What are sanctuary cities? Here's a list of sanctuary cities, counties, states

Update, April 12, 2019: President Donald Trump tweeted Friday that he is "giving strong considerations" to placing "Illegal Immigrants in Sanctuary Cities only."

That tweet came only hours after the White House said the president had floated the day before was no longer under consideration.

The White House had said early Friday that it had considered a plan to release detained immigrants into sanctuary cities but the plan had been quickly scuttled by lawyers and dropped.

Original story, Jan. 26, 2017: 

President Donald Trump has ordered cuts in federal grants for cities that offer safe harbor for undocumented immigrants.

Called “sanctuary cities,” each could lose millions in federal grant dollars once the order takes effect.

What are sanctuary cities? They are cities and counties (and in some instances, states) that have policies in place that limit cooperation with U.S. Immigration and Customs Enforcement.

More than 200 jurisdictions refused requests from the federal government to detain individuals for possible deportation from the country. According to CNN, ICE Director Sarah Saldaña testified before Congress, saying some groups refused ICE agents access to jails and prisons.

For the most up-to-date list of sanctuary cities from the Center for Immigration Studies, please click here.

The Associated Press contributed to this article.

Comments on this article