3 win Nobel Prize in physics for ‘pioneering quantum information science’

STOCKHOLM — Three scientists have won this year’s Nobel Prize in physics.

>> Read more trending news

According to The Associated Press, the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences announced Tuesday that Alain Aspect, John F. Clauser and Anton Zeilinger won the award for “pioneering quantum information science.”

The scientists “have each conducted groundbreaking experiments using entangled quantum states, where two particles behave like a single unit even when they are separated,” the academy said in a news release. “Their results have cleared the way for new technology based upon quantum information.”

The announcement came one day after Swedish scientist Svante Paabo was named the winner of the Nobel Prize in physiology or medicine for his research on human evolution, the AP previously reported.

The remaining Nobel Prizes for 2022 will be announced in the coming days:

  • Wednesday: Nobel Prize in chemistry
  • Thursday: Nobel Prize in literature
  • Friday: Nobel Peace Prize
  • Oct. 10: Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic Sciences

Each prize includes an award of 10 million Swedish kronor, or about $900,000, according to the AP.

– The Associated Press contributed to this report.