• 2018 Mass. primary election results: Pressley, Baker lead long list of wins



    Polls opened at 7 a.m. Tuesday, September 4 for the 2018 Massachusetts primary elections as voters narrowed the field of Democrats and Republicans competing for elected offices in the November 6 general election.

    Voters had until 8 p.m. Tuesday to vote. Refresh this page for updates on the local races. 

    10:42 p.m.: Tracy Lovvorn wins Republican primary for chance to face Democratic US Rep. Jim McGovern in November.

    10:12 p.m.: Jay McMahon, lawyer from Cape Cod, wins Republican primary for Massachusetts attorney general.

    10:03 p.m.: Ex-Obama aide Quentin Palfrey defeats Jimmy Tingle in Democratic primary for lieutenant governor.

    9:52 p.m.: Secretary of State William Galvin fends off challenge from Josh Zakim in Democratic primary.

    9:31 p.m.: US Rep. Richard Neal defeats challenger Tahirah Amatul-Wadud in Democratic primary.

    9:25 p.m.: Michael Capuano concedes to Boston City Councilor Ayanna Pressley in Democratic primary.

    9:19 p.m.: Jay Gonzalez wins Democratic nomination for Massachusetts governor, will face GOP incumbent Charlie Baker in November.

    9:15 p.m.: GOP state Rep. Geoff Diehl wins US Senate primary, will face off against Elizabeth Warren in November.

    9:10 p.m.: Governor Charlie Baker wins Republican primary over Scott Lively, AP reports.

    8:49 p.m.: Incumbent Mass. Governor Charlie Baker leads Scott Lively 64 percent to 36 percent in the Republican Primary with two percent reporting.

    6 p.m.: Voter turnout in Boston is at 74,235, which is 18.3 percent of registered voters in the city.

    3 p.m.: Voter turnout in Boston is at 49,345.

    12 p.m.: 33,368 votes have been cast in Boston as of noon - 8.3 percent of registered voters in the city

    9 a.m.: Voter turnout in Boston as of 9 a.m. is 14,931 total voters - that's 3.7 percent of registered voters in the city.

    7 a.m.: Polls open for voters.


    In Massachusetts, there are 4,493,007 voters eligible to vote in the Sept. 4 primaries:
    55 percent of voters are unenrolled
    33 percent are registered Democrat
    10 percent are registered Republican

    Fewer than one percent are registered Libertarians, unenrolled, or independent. Voters may choose a party ballot Tuesday and remain unenrolled. 

    In Boston, there are 403,560 registered voters, including 206,148 Democrats, 23,893 Republicans, and 172,365 voters who are not enrolled in any political party. 

    Secretary of State William Galvin told The Republican of Springfield he expects a turnout of about 200,000 in the Republican primary and 500,000 in the Democratic primary.


    Ayanna Pressley is hoping to knock off Congressman Michael Capuano. 

    Pressley's Boston City Council colleague Josh Zakim is trying to topple Secretary of State William Galvin. 

    The most competitive primary is in the Merrimack Valley, where voters will pick from 10 Democrats vying to succeed Rep. Niki Tsongas of Lowell, who is not seeking re-election.


    Republican primary voters will choose either Rep. Geoff Diehl, John Kingston or Beth Lindstrom to run against U.S. Sen. Elizabeth Warren. 

    Attorney General Maura Healey will learn whether she will square off against Jay McMahon or Dan Shores.

    The bipartisan and popular Gov. Charlie Baker faces pastor Scott Lively, who will put the pro-Trump agenda to the test. 

    Baker, if he prevails as expected on Tuesday, would face the winner of a lower wattage gubernatorial primary between Jay Gonzalez and Bob Massie. 


    U.S. Reps. James McGovern of Worcester, Katherine Clark of Melrose and Seth Moulton of Salem face no opponents in Tuesday's primaries. 

    Congressman Richard Neal of Springfield is being challenged by Tahira Amatul-Wadud, also of Springfield. 

    The 3rd District primary features Jeffrey Ballinger of Andover, Alexandra Chandler of Haverhill, Beej Das of Lowell, Rufus Gifford of Concord, Leonard Golder of Stow, Daniel Koh of Andover, Sen. Barbara L'Italien of Andover, Bopha Malone of Bedford, Rep. Juana Matias of Lawrence, and Lori Trahan of Westford. Gary Rucinski of Newton is running against Congressman Joseph Kennedy in the 4th District. 

    The aforementioned matchup between Congressman Michael Capuano and Councilor Ayanna Pressley has engulfed the 7th District. 

    In the 8th District, it's Congressman Stephen Lynn against Democrats Christopher Voehl of Milton and Brianna Wu of Dedham. 

    Democrat Bill Cimbrelo of Barnstable is battling Rep. Bill Keating of Bourne in the 9th District. 

    There are two contested Republican Congressional primaries - Tracy Lyn Lovvorn of Grafton and Kevin William Powers of Millville are dueling in the 2nd District for the right to face McGovern in November. 

    John Hugo of Woburn and Louis Kuchnir of Southborough are competing, with the winner facing Rep. Clark in November.

    U.S. Senate GOP - primary
    John Kingston
    Geoff Diehl   
    Beth Lindstrom
    Governor Dem – primary
    Bob Massie
    Jay Gonzalez
    Governor GOP - primary
    Charlie Baker
    Scott Lively
    Lieutenant Governor Dem - primary
    Jimmy Tingle
    Quentin Palfrey
    Attorney General GOP - primary
    James McMahon
    Daniel Shores
    Secretary of State Dem - primary
    William Galvin
    Josh Zakim
    U.S. House District 1 West, Springfield Dem - primary
    Richard Neal
    Tahirah Amatul-Wadud
    U.S. House District 2 Central, Worcester GOP - primary
    Tracy Lovvorn
    Kevin Powers
    U.S. House District 3 N Central, Lowell Dem - primary
    Jeffrey Ballinger
    Bopha Malone
    Beej Das
    Leonard Golder
    Alexandra Chandler
    Juana Matias
    Lori Trahan
    Daniel Koh
    Barbara L'Italien
    Rufus Gifford
    U.S. House District 4 S Central, Taunton Dem - primary
    Joe Kennedy
    Gary Rucinski
    U.S. House District 5 NW Boston subs GOP - primary
    John Hugo
    Louis Kuchnir
    U.S. House District 7 Boston Area Dem - primary
    Mike Capuano
    Ayanna Pressley
    U.S. House District 8 S Boston subs Dem - primary
    Stephen Lynch
    Christopher Voehl
    Brianna Wu
    U.S. House District 9 Southeast Corner Dem - primary
    Bill Keating
    Bill Cimbrelo
    District Attorney Suffolk Dem - primary
    Shannon McAuliffe
    Rachael Rollins
    Evandro Carvalho
    Gregory Henning
    Linda Champion
    District Attorney Northern (Middlesex County) Dem - primary
    Marian Ryan
    Donna Patalano

    Next Up: